Draw a Dinosaur Day: Stegosaurus in Melody Lake

Stegosaurus in Melody Lake by Jade Blackwater

I just learned about the fourth annual “Draw a Dinosaur Day”, thanks to the timely blog mention on behalf of the fine creators Heather and Jeremy at The Voltage Gate. According to Todd of the Draw a Dinosaur Day website:

Draw A Dinosaur Day is a holiday celebrated on January 30th. The goal is as simple as it’s title: Draw A Dinosaur! You don’t have to be a brilliant illustrator, just take a couple of minutes with a blank piece of paper, a post-it note or your computer and enjoy yourself.

I’m grateful for discovering this most excellent of holidays – I needed to have a little fun this weekend! As you can see, I did have fun. This is an illustration of Stegosaurus from The Perfect Present, a short story I wrote in August 2009 and never found time to illustrate. Shown here is Stegosaurus splashing and playing in her musical Melody Lake.

The truth is, I’m having such a blast that as soon as I publish this post, I’m heading back to my sketchbook to draw up my other idea.  If I finish it, I’ll be sure to share.

Now go: grab your crayons and paper, and sketch up some ‘saurus!

3 Responses to Draw a Dinosaur Day: Stegosaurus in Melody Lake

  1. Jeremy says:

    Very cool. I can barely keep crayon in the lines, but it’s cool to see everyone’s submissions.

    I’ll be back to give the story a listen when I have a bit of time.

  2. kseverny says:

    draw a dinosaur day?.
    Tat sounds cool

  3. Jeremy – I love all the submissions… some of them are super silly!

    kseverny – It IS cool! I highly recommend participation. How could anyone resist a good excuse to play with dinosaurs?

Leave a Reply

