The Perfect Present: A Short Story by Jade Leone Blackwater

Gold Frog Garden, Copyright © 2009 Jade Leone Blackwater

I wrote The Perfect Present in August 2009 for my sister’s 25th birthday.  I’m sharing this story here in audio, read aloud by yours truly.

This story is rated “OK” for all ages.  I’m new to audio recordings, so any inconsistencies in the reading are a product of my practice (and possibly my over-enthusiasm while practicing the art of character in voice).  I recorded this story using Audacity.  The recording lasts about 25 minutes, and the (.mp3) file is about 23 MB in size (so it might not stream very well).

If you are among the deaf readers in my audience and would like to read a copy of The Perfect Present, please email me with your request.

Happy Birthday Sis, and enjoy everybody!

*     *     *

CLICK HERE to Download an Audio Recording (.mp3) of THE PERFECT PRESENT by Jade Leone Blackwater


The Perfect Present Sketch, Copyright © 2009 Jade Leone Blackwater

4 Responses to The Perfect Present: A Short Story by Jade Leone Blackwater

  1. Gretchen says:

    LOL! This was wonderful, Jade! Loved the varied landscapes, vivid with different plants, and the lovable characters. Such unexpected places this story took me…My question, of course, is — but what was the perfect gift? And the answer it seems to me: the story itself. I’m sure it pleased Owl very well indeed. 🙂

  2. JLB says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it Gretchen, it was a lot of fun to write. Thank you! 😀

  3. […] fun this weekend! As you can see, I did have fun. This is an illustration of Stegosaurus from The Perfect Present, a short story I wrote in August 2009 and never found time to illustrate. Shown here is Stegosaurus […]

  4. […] fun this weekend! As you can see, I did have fun. This is an illustration of Stegosaurus from The Perfect Present, a short story I wrote in August 2009 and never found time to illustrate. Shown here is Stegosaurus […]

Leave a Reply

