Inspiration from Louise Erdrich

My summer reading has included several novels by Louise Erdrich, one of the great contemporary storytellers, and an inspiration for me as an evolving writer.

Here is an interview with Amy Goodman of Democracy Now! and Louise Erdrich.  Take a moment to hear Erdrich speak about the origins, motivations, and methods of her writing.

4 Responses to Inspiration from Louise Erdrich

  1. onipar says:

    Haven’t read any of her work. I’ll have to add her to my–longer than Santa’s–list.

  2. JLB says:

    Hey Oni – she’s a great author. I think what I like most is that she doesn’t sound like other writers – her story telling approach and her voice are both unique.

    I recommend that you start at the beginning with her first novel Love Medicine; her three subsequent novels also deal with the lives of the characters and families which are introduced with her first book.

    Incidentally, I can understand that ultra-long-book-list! Enjoy! 🙂

  3. Louise Erdrich’s last Report of the Miracles at Little No Horse is one of my favourite ever novels. Wonderful!

  4. JLB says:

    Hi Crafty Green! I can’t wait to read more of her work – she’s one of those few authors whose work I land upon and feel, “now this is someone I can really look up to.” If I could ever come anywhere close to her as a writer, I think I might feel satisfied with my efforts. 😉

Leave a Reply

