Monday Morning Muse

“Shed”, Snake Skin, © Copyright 2008 Jade Leone Blackwater

[Click to enlarge.]

3 Responses to Monday Morning Muse

  1. spyscribbler says:

    Yikes! You’re slipping. You’re insane! What kind of picture is THAT? 😉

    Okay, okay. It is pretty with that lovely touch of a leaf there. And thought-provoking. And I understand that the snake is gone.

    But that’s kinda creepy. Where did it go? *shudder*

    (You know I’m kidding, right? And you know I’m not really scared of snakes. Not at all. Love ’em. You won’t see me on a table screaming …)

  2. JLB says:

    SpyScribbler, there’s actually a really cool story behind this snake skin… there are garden snakes that live by my flower bed near the hose spigot. I like to come out early in the mornings in the summer to see them sunning themselves on the garden rocks.

    One morning last summer, I came outside extra early (because my roof had a hole in it, and the contractors were coming)… and among the flowers I found this skin, still glistening wet in the dew and completely soft. It terminated right at the entrance to the snakey clubhouse. I first took a picture with the skin stretched out to show how big the snake was (big for a garden snake), and then I coiled it up to take more “artistic” photos as the one shown here. After a few hours in the sun, the whole thing baked to a crisp and became stiff… naturally, I gave it back to the garden. 😉

    So sorry ’bout the snake imagery… I really like snakes, but personally, I’m still working hard at mitigating my own recoil from spiders – so I can understand how you might feel. I promise this much: there will be no spider pictures at Brainripples. 😀

  3. Sylvia says:

    Beautiful. I love snakes too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

