Brainripples August Update

Greetings!  I hope you are all having a productive, creative summer. 

Here are a couple creative news bites:

Tonight is the monthly Philadelphia area writers’ critique group meeting.  If you’d like to join us, check out the Critique Group page for details, or email me.

Jason Evans at The Clarity of Night is hosting his sixth short fiction contest.  Get over there, like, now: contest closes tonight, Wednesday August 1, 2007 at 11pm EDT.

The Festival of the Trees 14 is online at Via Negativa – hosted by Pterry the Katydid (a.k.a. Dave Bonta).

And Jenny of Seeded, Crescent at Midnight, and Anomalous Cognition nominated me for Bloggers for Positive Global Change.  Thanks to Jenny for her generous recognition – just as soon as my time allows, I will be certain to pass the torch. 

One of these days, someone is going to start repair work at my house.  Until then, Brainripples will continue its summer vacation.

Happy Creating!

 

PS – You can read my submission, Ravish by Rainstorm Entry #67 over at the Clarity of Night “Halo” Short Fiction Contest.  Let me know what you think – constructive feedback is welcome and encouraged (and be sure to read some of the other submissions while you’re there too).

4 Responses to Brainripples August Update

  1. Really liked your piece over at Clarity – clearly the editing down from 400 words did the power of good because you got the pace and dramatic tension spot on!

  2. chris says:

    Thanks for your kind words about my entry. I really appreciated that you took the time to comment!

    I’m going to go see which one yours was now. They’re starting to all blend together now!!

    Cheers!

    Chris (Takoda)

    http://abenchpress.blogspot.com/

  3. JLB says:

    Vanilla & Atyllah, Thank you for visiting, and for your feedback – I only wish Brainripples were in full swing for the new visitors. It’s always so much fun to see all the writerly activity at Clarity during the short fiction contests.

    Chris, thanks for stopping by. I have major house reconstruction, so for once I had nothing better to do than read all the entries; I absolutely agree with you – I was just thinking this evening on the ways that these stories all seem to blend and connect.

  4. Bernita says:

    Thank you for your kind words on my entry.
    I really, really, really liked your piece.

Leave a Reply

