Show and Tell Friday – Mother Nature tells it like it is

Jade Leone Blackwater, Brainripples, www.brainripples.com, © 2007Welcome back to Show and Tell Friday.  Today’s will be short: Brainripples HQ was washed out this week, so while I mop up, feel free to review previous Show and Tell entries, and other Brainripples features.

Wednesday we had my favorite kind of weather: rain.  Our 100+ year-old cottage at the farm has its share of quirks, including an upstairs window that leaks buckets with a good storm.  This week that rain came through the wall, into the floor, and out the lower-level ceiling, dumping gallons of water smack over all the computer equipment.

There’s nothing like a good minor disaster to shake up your world.  With the house torn up, I’ve spent the last couple days cleaning, writing, sketching, and planning… and going outside as much as possible to get away from the drone of the fans.  I’m also putting together a huge collection for the Purple Heart program and various Freecycle exchanges: a great way to make some mental space is by creating some physical space.  Donate usable items!

You don’t need a minor household crisis to get your creativity flowing and set things in motion: it’s a lot easier to say than to do, but if you’re looking for a way to jostle your inspiration, try to unplug, step away from your other obligations for a few hours, and get out into the open air with a pen and paper.  See what happens, and feel free to come back and share!

Do you have a project on your plate?  Tell us about your latest and greatest in the comments, and share links to your posts.

3 Responses to Show and Tell Friday – Mother Nature tells it like it is

  1. jason evans says:

    Yikes, sorry about the weather assault! Water is a devil of an adversary.

    I have some alone time right now. I’m going to use it to do marathon revisions on my novel. I haven’t done that for years. I usually write in small blocks of time.

  2. Angelique says:

    JLB:

    Great post… I felt your pain. YIKES.

    I’m in the process of getting rid of all the “stuff” that’s just sitting around our house. Neither my husband nor I are particularly materialistic (and we’re trying to make sure our son isn’t, either), but we do have the tendency to avoid tackling the clutter, so our place looks rather like the aftermath of a catastrophic hurricane.

    Not a very exciting project! Good luck with the clean-up.

    Angelique

  3. onipar says:

    Great advice. I always like getting outside for inspiration.

    My blog is filled with my current projects, which include the following:
    My novel, my vegetable garden, photographs, and short story submissions.

    Good luck with the drying out. Hope everything is okay.

Leave a Reply

