Show and Tell Friday – Poetry Selections

I’d like to share a piece of my poetry with you.  Feedback, constructive criticism, and responses/interpretations of this work are all welcome and encouraged.

 

*     *     *

 

Singing of the Spheres

 

 

Your golden roar awakens me

amid rattling windows

and rustling blinds;

the cold sill

on my hard elbow,

speaks of silver-backed midnight-birds

who soar ever-eastward to capture the dawn.

 

In the dark of the theatre,

I reach to you,

watch the aisle-lights twinkle

amid chiaroscuro projections;

these are not wishes or dreamers on a screen,

but mere dew drops

cast upon the blanket of night.

 

Beneath a cold chandelier she watches us.

Every vice is a flavor tickling her stony tongue,

with each devotion and incantation,

she tosses her head of fiery tresses

from side to side – a beaded curtain hung about

the door of heaven –

sprinkling sunlight across verdant unknowns.

© 2007 Jade Leone Blackwater

… and tell:

I wrote Singing of the Spheres in the summer of 2005.  The first draft was written just before dawn, which undoubtedly influenced the star and light/shadow imagery that I enjoyed while writing this piece.

Please feel welcome to ask questions or share comments – feedback helps me grow.

Thank you for reading!

*     *      *

Please respect my work.  Do not reproduce, reprint, or otherwise use Brainripples material without first receiving permission from Jade L. Blackwater.

 

[To request permission to reprint, or to learn more about my work, please contact me directly at jadeblackwater [at] brainripples [dot] com, or visit the Brainripples business site for more information.]

9 Responses to Show and Tell Friday – Poetry Selections

  1. Angela says:

    I want to hold a brush and illustrate it! Very inspiring…

  2. JLB says:

    Angela, thank you, and feel free to do so, I really admire your work. 🙂

  3. Bernita says:

    I think it an excellent piece – except for the title.

  4. JLB says:

    Do tell – what rubs you wrong about the title? (and thanks for your impressions Bernita!)

  5. Anita Marie says:

    Sometimes when I look at a painting or a picture on a desk or at an illustration in a magazine I can hear music- sometimes it’s bits of rock songs or orchestra pieces and at times just silly jingles. It’s not a background thing- it’s pretty loud.

    Don’t know what causes it but it’s usually some sort of visual cue that sets it off.

    And sometimes when I read something the same thing happens but not as often.

    Your poem did that, so I’m saying that the old brain enjoyed it.
    amm

  6. JLB says:

    Anita Marie, many thanks – I’m pleased to hear that it grooves for you!

  7. Bernita says:

    The “Music of the Spheres” is such a cliche, and I personally don’t feel that “Singing” removes from it.
    The poem itself is original and lovely.

  8. JLB says:

    Many thanks again for your feedback Bernita – I really appreciate it!

  9. Writers from across the blogosphere: The Writers’ Block Carnival

    Welcome to the June 12, 2007 edition of writers from across the blogosphere.

    Neela Menon presents Well Done, Director! posted at One Hundred Years of Solitude, saying, “This is a collection of intensely personal notes from the diary of an art…

Leave a Reply

