Read, Write, Repeat

First, I’d like to remind all writers in the Philadelphia area that my monthly writers’ critique group will be meeting this Wednesday, June 6, 2007 at 7pm at the Borders Books in Springfield.

 

For more details, check out the Critique Group page here at the Brainripples blog, or email me at jadeblackwater [at] brainripples [dot] com .

Second, the Festival of the Trees 12 is up over at Arboreality. You’ll find a few of our regular Brainripples visitors as well as an abundance of tree-loving bloggers from around the world.  The Festival of the Trees is a monthly blog carnival featuring posts and pictures about trees, forests, and wood.

If you would like to participate in future Festivals of the Trees by submitting work or hosting the Festival, be sure to visit the Festival of the trees coordinating blog for all the dirt.

Finally, a question for fun:

What is one of your earliest memories of creating something and feeling satisfied with that process of creation?  A drawing in school?  Your first batch of cookies?  Your first engine rebuild?  Tell us what you remember about some of your first artistic experiments.

For me, one of my earliest memories of creating a work I connected with was during a writing project in second grade (or was it first?).  Our teacher was the best when it came to sparking the creative, and this was one of our first lessons in writing poetry.  After initial discussions, we wandered out onto the playground in a line as she asked us to look around, see what catches our eye, and then write about it.

I still remember all the first things I noticed and wrote about for the project: a cloud that looked like a feather floating at the zenith, an old nursing stump, and a leaf skeleton caught in the duff.  (In fact, somewhere in my art boxes, I bet I have that little book of poems!)  These poems weren’t especially brilliant or witty or powerful – but they were mine.  Once I felt capable of composing thoughts in a poetic form, I began to write my first poems that extended emotion and thought into metaphor and verse.

Don’t get me wrong though.  I wasn’t some poetic genius at six, (and I’m still not even shining the shoes of the greats).  These flashes of poetic insight were mere sprinkles of rain across a vast plain of ridiculous, outlandish, (and occasionally vulgar and potty-mouthed) short stories scratched in many a spiral-bound notebook.

Ok, your turn!  What’s one of your earliest memories of creative inspiration?

If you don’t feel like scratching your head on that one, try this instead: what is one of the first projects/works/etc. that you created (or helped to create) that really made you feel satisfied with your own work, or amazed at your own ability?

8 Responses to Read, Write, Repeat

  1. jason evans says:

    I remember writing some strange, odd, but fascinating little stories for school in like 4th or 5th grade. That’s about the time I started writing stories. Suprisingly, I didn’t earn myself a trip to the counsellor.

  2. Jamie Ford says:

    Mine was making an ABC book out of craft paper when I was in preschool. I still have it. I was so proud of it. Coming up with things for X was a challenge, I recall.

    Of course, then I remember my 1st grade teacher scolding me for coloring outside the lines. But, she was a nasty shrew that once hoisted my sister from her chair by her hair–so yeah, she was a harsh critic.

  3. JLB says:

    Jason, I too wrote some really weird stuff… it’s probably best that some of it just stayed in the binder. 😉

    Jamie, hee hee – I have an ABC book too! X’s are tough. Glad that you were able to rise above a less-than-supportive teacher. Hold your chin up high for coloring outside the lines – that’s where all the fun is anyhow!

  4. Anita Marie says:

    When I was eight I planted my very own Pumpkin Patch- my Dad was stunned, the garden really thrived and all I remember him saying something about hoping I’d gotten more for my immortal Soul then a half dozen ( it turned out to be more ) pumpkins.

    A few years later I wrote a story about a kid who trapped Souls in her pumpkins so they would grow into giant car sized things …and for that effort I won two tickets to see the Seattle Supersonics and free milkshakes from Mcdonalds.

    Writing, I remember thinking was something I was willing to keep doing- especially if Milkshakes were involved!

  5. spyscribbler says:

    I made a little sculpture cat for my best friend, but then my mom wouldn’t let me give it to her! But I was quite proud of that little cat, even if it was flat-faced, LOL.

  6. JLB says:

    Anita Marie, I love how the pumpkin patch was such an important source of inspiration – I certainly find them inspiring!

    SpyScribbler, it must have been great – I remember being quite proud of my first forays in three-dimensional art. 🙂

  7. Jenny says:

    I think mine might have been that exact same assignment. First or second grade. I wrote a poem on fall, and was extremely proud that I was able to make it rhyme.

  8. JLB says:

    Jenny, I was sure you’d recognize the project. Certainly that was the catalyst to our early collaborative work 🙂

Leave a Reply

