New camera

French Lavender

 

For Christmas, I received a new camera from my folks (thanks Mom and Dad!)  The Nikon D80 is my first SLR, and I am excited beyond words.  As a self-taught photographer, it’s extremely exciting to “graduate” to the real deal and learn to use a digital SLR.

For now, I’m just puttering around learning how to use the camera, and familiarizing myself with using such a heavy instrument (it is worlds different from the slender, pocket-sized COOLPIX S3 I have been working with).

Above is one of my first pictures (click on it for more detail).  Check it out: my new camera is so awesome, that you can even see the dog hair on my indoor herb garden!

8 Responses to New camera

  1. Ester says:

    wow, congratulations! That’s so exciting! I’ve also been looking at the markets for a new camera…cool to see that you got a new one!

  2. JLB says:

    Ester, good luck in your search. From my initial experiences, I really love the Nikon D80. A lot of photobloggers have had good things to say about it (sorry I don’t have links to reviews off the top of my head).

    The COOLPIX is perfect for dog-walking – I can pop it in my pocket, and it’s great for just catching things in the moment as I wander. However, I am SO excited to be able to start photographing details and close ups.

  3. Si says:

    I was the same a few months ago, I loved my compact, loved photos and wasnt sure if spending all the money would be worth it. It so totally was and its only been a few months. Compared to my D80 my compact just seems rubbish now, it seems to be a right level for people to jump in an use then play around when they get more of a clue, love it love it love it. Hope you have fun 🙂

  4. Gimli says:

    Lucky for us too! 🙂

  5. Sylvia says:

    Oops, that’s Sylvia, not Gimli. Long story.

  6. spyscribbler says:

    That is so, so cool! I loved an old SLR camera I had in high school, but it sure wasn’t digital. That would be so cool! And look at that: you can see the dog hair, you’re right!

  7. JLB says:

    Si, Welcome to Brainripples. It is pretty darn exciting to be learning more about the mechanics of photography, but the smaller camera was so perfect for me as a beginner… I was limited in functionality, so it allowed me to focus on just learning about the process of “seeing” the picture. 😉 Hope you’re having a blast with your new camera as well!

    Sylvia, thanks!

    Spyscribbler, I think that the nature of digital photography may be part of what has really motivated my interest in photography. It all really happened by accident–I think the immediacy of digital work, as well as the affordability of working without film made it something useful and appealing for me to play with artistically. Some day, I should probably take the time to learn more about working with film! 😉

  8. sil63 says:

    I own a Nikon d70 and I can say it’s a wonderful camera so I guess the new and improved d80 must be even better 🙂 I’d really like to switch to it when money won’t be an issue… It can take black and white shots too, right?
    Happy shooting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

