Musings of the Macabre at Owl Creek Bridge

 

This week has been filled with discoveries, and one of my favorites was an unexpected hello from Anita Marie Moscoso, creator of the Owl Creek Bridge blog.  Anita shares stories at Owl Creek Bridge, and writes with Soul Food Café.  I sure wish I’d found her blog before Halloween – so many fun stories!

The Soul Food Café is a portal for writers and artists, providing inspiration, resources, muses, and encouragement for daily writing.  There is a lot to explore, so take your time, and enjoy.

Thanks for tapping my shoulder Anita!

9 Responses to Musings of the Macabre at Owl Creek Bridge

  1. porchsitter says:

    I’ve been reading Anita’s Soul Food entries for almost two years. One of her specialties is making her characters creepy and endearing at the same time. I have no idea how she comes up with this stuff, lol.

  2. JLB says:

    Porchsitter, welcome! I completely agree with your assessment of Anita’s talent for characters. I can’t wait to have a little more time to sit back and read through her archives. 🙂

  3. Lori says:

    Ms. Moscoso is a gifted storyteller and I enjoy her work very much.

  4. Anita Marie says:

    I’m so glad that my Soul Food Cafe Friends stopped by your blog-as you can see with the support friends like these it’s no wonder I’ve developed the confidence to put my ” Owl Creek ” blog together.

    By the way-all of my stories are based on ” Prompts ” and ” Journeys ” I’ve found at the Soul Food Cafe.

    So thanks for inviting us all over to Brainripples, you’ve been wonderful!

    Anita Marie

  5. Traveller says:

    Anita Marie does indeed tell wonderful stories. I too have been reading them with great pleasure for the last two years since my own discovery of the Soul Food Café

  6. Lene says:

    Thanks for introducing me to the Soul Food Cafe. What a cool site. I haven’t surfed the writing web world much–looking forward to reading your other discoveries too.

  7. JLB says:

    Lori and Traveller, thanks for stopping by and supporting Anita! I’m really looking forward to reading more.

    Anita, it’s been my pleasure. I’m excited to explore Soul Food Café and start playing with those prompts myself. 😉

    Lené, it’s amazing just how many writers (and writers’ resources) are available online. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised by how much interaction there is available online for writers at all levels. I’m looking forward to reading more over at your new blog. 🙂

  8. Soulwright says:

    wow! you discovered our very own Anita – but we discovered her first 😉

    I adore her work and the way she fearlessly works with positive and negative shadow material. Her writing is the kind that creates images in my mind that stay for weeks or months. I still have images of the first time I read Leaning Birches… and then there is that story about the BONE china at riversleigh.

    What a great site you have here – think I will stay a bit and look around and make myself at home.

  9. JLB says:

    Soulwright, welcome! I’m glad you stopped in, by all means – make yourself at home! 😀

Leave a Reply

