Plying the craft and news bites

 

First, a little tooting of the old horn:

 

I have a little guest-blog over at Garden Rant today called Gardening with Locally Native Trees and Plants.  If you’re interested in gardening, you’ll be sure to have lots of fun with Susan, Amy, and Michele over at Garden Rant.

 

Second, this morning over at Bingorage I found a few wonderful links to news, artists, and writers (as usual).  I liked this one so much that I’m going to share it with you too, but if you want to see the rest of the art and news links, go see Eric!  The writing link I’ve lifted is for an essay by Chuck Pahlahniuk (writer of Fight Club), called 13 Writing Tips.

 

And finally, a little question for thought: Susan at Garden Rant comments in my guest-blog on my use of “trees and plants” as opposed to just plain ol’ “plants.”  And she’s right: trees ARE plants.  I face this challenge constantly in my writing both when discussing “trees and plants,” and when addressing “writers and artists.”

 

All trees are plants, but not all plants are trees.  Ditto when we’re talking about artistry.  I originally hesitated to make the distinction here at Brainripples, but I’ve found that in the common culture, there is often a distinction made either verbally or conceptually between the written arts, the visual arts, the musical arts, the physical arts, ad infinitum.

 

I’ve read many discussions on the ‘writer versus aspiring writer,’ or when we reach the point when we consider ourselves a true artist over the mere doodler.

 

Personally, I think everyone from the auto mechanic to the opera singer is an artist.  Clarity and inclusiveness make for difficult poles to balance.

 

So my question for you: regardless of your craft, do you consider yourself an artist?  Why?  At what point did that become clear for you, or is it still unclear?

2 Responses to Plying the craft and news bites

  1. jason evans says:

    Do I consider myself an artist? I do now.

    Before last summer, I did the majority of my writing in private, just showing stories to friends for comment. But then I decided it was time to get more public. I still am writing with the aim of traditional publication, but I decided to start a concept blog. The first six months were very experimental, and I learned a great deal about what people liked and didn’t like. Looking back over a year later, I’m blown away by how successful the attempt has been. The fact that I still attract readers, some on whom have been with me since last fall, gave me the ability to trust my writing voice and artistic vision. Only when I got that trust in myself did I take the word “aspiring” out of my profile.

  2. JLB says:

    Jason, I like how you’ve described the evolution for you from “aspiring” to “artist.” I think your comments about developing a sense of trust in your voice and vision are important for every artist… having that sense of confidence is a challenge for many artists, but I think fundamentally, we all strive to express that voice that we trust has something to say.

Leave a Reply

