Friday Already!

Well, that week disappeared!  Being my favorite time of year, October always flies by with unparalleled alacrity.  It’s often my busiest time of year, and I usually look forward to the creative surplus spilling over into November (another fine month).

I have a few things brewing for Brainripples while I focus on knocking out this month’s tasks.  We will begin our Feature Artist series soon.  This will include interviews and information about artists across all media – writing, visual arts, music, even technology.  I look forward to sharing with you some artists I have encountered and their approach to their art both personally and professionally.

I’m also giving consideration to November and that creative surplus I mentioned.  Many writers will be taking on the NaNoWriMo, which I only first heard about last year from Jenny at Anomalous Cognition when I first caught the blogging bug.  Since then, the prospect of participating in the NaNoWriMo has percolated in the back of my mind.

While I remain undecided about what I might do, I do enjoy the concept of the NaNoFiMo (National Novel FINISHING Month) which I’ve heard other writers discussing casually about thier own goals.  Perhaps, instead of tackling a whole novel which I may or may not be prepared for, I could focus on finishing a writing project (or two).  I even have one in mind, although it isn’t a novel.

So here I am, nearly midmonth, and there is still so much to do!  Do you ever find that your creativity rises the busier you get?  What are YOUR plans for next month?  Yes… go on and think that far ahead… it won’t hurt!

4 Responses to Friday Already!

  1. Ester says:

    yay for artist interviews! I’m excited to read all about it 🙂

    I most definitely agree about activity pushing your creativity further. And I also find that there is a breaking point where it can cave in because of too much going on…kind of like baking popovers, there is a delicate point.

    Your excitement and busy mood is catchy. Makes me want to get creating! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Trailhead says:

    This is killing me. I’m lying here in bed with this stupid cold when I should be out photographing autumn. My plans for next month are to begin the transition over from a film-based SLR to a digital SLR, get a new tripod and ball head, and sort through all the images I took of autumn after I get over this annoying cold!

  3. jason evans says:

    We’re really starting to change colors down here!! I really need to get out and get busy with the camera. I’m heading up to the mountains this weekend, though. I wonder if it’s past peak up there.

  4. JLB says:

    Ester, I’m looking forward to the artist interviews too! I love your analogy with the popovers… it’s so true – there is a fine (and variable) line between what we wish to accomplish, and what we are capable of in a given time frame. Enjoy your creations!

    Trailhead, You’ll get better soon! That autumn isn’t over yet… I am jealous of your digital SLR. As I slowly climb the ladder of photographic experience, I look forward to a chance to try my hand with one of those. And I’m definitely jealous of your tripod… I’m sure that some of my pictures would come out more readily if I had something stable to rest the camera upon. Get well (eat garlic)!

    Jason, it’s so fun to watch the colors change! This being my first East Coast autumn, I’m really enjoying how dominant the changes can be. Although I admit, sometimes I miss those evergreens. I think you’ll be ok in the mountains. I was in the Poconos the weekend before last, and the change was about 1/3 into its prime. I bet you’re just going to snag the swell. Happy photo-shooting! I can’t wait to see what you come back with!

Leave a Reply

