Literary Journals

 

These past few days I’ve been trying to catch up on bits of reading when I have a few minutes, and at the top of my list has been the second issue of The Picolata Review.

 

It’s definitely worth your time to hop over and give it a read.  I’m about halfway through (ok, I always read all the poetry first), and they’ve certainly set the bar for themselves in terms of selecting high-quality, unique writing.

 

A couple weeks ago I had a chance to read a little excerpt from another literary journal I enjoy, The Black Warrior Review.  Their literary journal comes out in print format, but they tend to put one or two pieces online for each issue (to tease me, of course).

 

If you’re looking for something different, you should stop in and try the short story A Step Ahead by Miriam Gershow in the Spring/Summer issue of The Black Warrior Review.  I was reminded of A Step Ahead after reading Jaye Wells’ post about her unfortunate series of relayed phone dialog the other day.

 

Another one of my favorites is The Caribbean Writer which I discovered a few years ago.  Give it a try – I promise you won’t be disappointed.  The Caribbean Writer comes with a voice all its own, and pages that breathe sand and sea! 

 

How about you?  What are your favorite literary journals?  There are SO many out there!  Which reminds me… I need to renew my subscriptions to The Seattle Review and The Bellingham Review.  I think I missed a few issues since moving to PA!

Leave a Reply

