The Business of Writing

For those who are interested in publication, or growing your writing as a business, you’ll want to check out Karen Syed’s blog The Life of a Publisher.  Karen offers insightful discussions regarding the business of writing from the perspective of both a writer and a publisher.

Her most recent posts, installments of A Quick start Guide for the Successful Writer, address the business of writing and publishing head-on, by encouraging writers to be informed, driven, and realistic, especially when it comes to goal setting and the process of achieving those goals.

This is a great opportunity to hear thoughts on the writing and publishing business from a publisher herself.  Stop by and ask Karen some questions – she answers from experience.

How do you approach the business aspects of your writing?  Do you just write for the pleasure of it, or are you published and/or working towards publication?  How do you balance your creative goals with your business goals?  How do you approach the task of self-promotion?

9 Responses to The Business of Writing

  1. Karen’s blog looks like a fantastic resource; thanks for posting the link!!

    In answer to one of your questions, I find it very difficult to balance creative writing with my business writing. Right now, the business writing pays the bills, so I have zero time left for creative writing. I need to start blocking off some time each day to pursue my creative interests or else I’m going to burn out soon.

  2. […] After this morning’s post about the business of writing, I came across another post related to the submissions process which I thought I’d share! […]

  3. JLB says:

    Howdy BizofKnowledge – I know just how you feel! I also do different types of business writing, and I have to put a lot of effort into creating a balance between my professional writing and my more creative endeavors.

    I hope you find the time and outlet you desire!

    JLB

  4. Joanna says:

    Hi Jade,
    I was delighted to find that you have a writing blog as well as your lovely tree blog. At the moment I’m revising my deck & book proposal, so I’m soaking up all this publishing info. Thanks so much for the links.

  5. Flood says:

    This summer I made a goal of sending out a short story to a …..well I haven’t thought of where yet, but to a place that uses paper to publish (as in not on the net.) My problem is I tend to put the cart efore the horse and study markets and promotion and the industry in general before I have anything to send out. It can be overwhelming for me. I’ve banned myself from Konrath’s blog until I have a reason to go there.

    Have you queried yet?

  6. JLB says:

    Hi Joanna, thanks for visiting Brainripples! I am so excited about your new deck – it’s just beautiful! Good luck with your book proposal – I look forward to hearing more about it.

    Greetings Flood, I hope you find some inspiration for a new story or two! I often have the opposite problem, writing work without considering where it might fit in the market, and then hunting around for where it might fit in.

    To date, my submissions have all been essays, poetry, and short fiction, so I have not yet needed to write the formal query for a full-length book; nonetheless, I read a lot about the process so that when the time comes, I’ll feel at least somewhat prepared for what is required and how to go about it

    This year I became so swept up in my move and all the new stuff that has come with it, that I’ve only made a handful of submissions. I decided to remove the submissions from my list of goals for the season, and instead am focused on just the writing – whatever comes and whenever it strikes me. Perhaps fourth quarter will be more productive in terms of getting my work out the door!

  7. Flood says:

    I know what you mean, It’s like being armed for war. Preparation is key, but for me, I have to focus more on the work than the mechanics of the industry or else I feel helpless and want to give up.

    My story is almost done, and will likely (hopefully) rest in a Canadian periodical. Until I have perfected it (which is another form of procrastination for me) I’ll worry about the other stuff later.

    This is just a personal preference, because I find I am discouraged easily. Good luck with your fourth quarter! And I hope you’ll let us know when things get going for you.

  8. Well, gosh , thanks so much for the word. One of the most imprtant things I learned coming up through the ranks is that I had to get over my fear to ask questions. I spent the first five years as a writer never asking a question. Boy have I changed.

    ANd to Biz, this is the best way to not only keep your writing skills sharp, but to build a following. By just doing a few minutes of writing a day, you could still write a book a year. It’s not the fastest process, but it might just be the steam you need to keep sane.

  9. JLB says:

    Flood, good luck to you as well! I promise to let everyone know when things start gaining some momentum (either that, or I’ll disappear!). 😉

    Karen, it was my pleasure. I really enjoy reading your thoughts, and I hope that others do as well! I completely agree with the idea of being persistent in one’s writing. I might miss days, but I always make sure that I come back to write – no matter what it is – to ensure that I keep my intentions focused on my craft. Who knows? That novel might trickle out of my fingers yet! Thanks for being there for questions! It’s a pleasure to read your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

