Goal Setting with the Capricorn Full Moon

Yesterday I created a new goal sheet.  It’s been a few months, and over the last couple weeks I’ve been giving a lot of thought to my goals.  Today, we have a full moon in Capricorn at 11:02pm EDT, 8:02pm PDT July 10, 2006, and I’m sure that between the moon’s sway and my own gear shifting, it was just time to realign my directives.

Six or seven years ago I watched a video seminar by Carleton H. Sheets called “How to Buy Your First Home or Investment Property with No Down Payment.”    The one thing I remember from the whole video is the part about goals.  Sheets suggests a simple tool for setting goals; the reason I remember it, is that I’ve been using it ever since.

Here are the basics:

1) Brainstorm your goals, categorized into “Long Term Goals” and “Short Term Goals.”

2) Write/type these goals out, grouped under the two headings “Long Term Goals” and “Short Term Goals.”

3) Title the sheet “<Insert name>’s Goals”; sign your name to the goal sheet.

4) Hang it on the wall somewhere that you’ll see it regularly.

This process helps you to wrap your brain around those specific goals which are most important to you.  By signing and displaying your goals, you are committing yourself to the goals, and more importantly, you are ensuring that those goals don’t just get filed away and forgotten the next day.

Every day, if not several times a day, you will look at and review those goals, keeping them fresh in your mind, and helping to focus your actions, your planning, and your priorities.

With a few years of practice, I’ve learned what does and doesn’t work for me.  I don’t like to set too many goals: just a few under each heading.  I don’t beat myself up when my goals change, or if I don’t meet one.  Instead, after two, three, six, sometimes twelve months, I simply take the goals down, revise them, and start fresh.

I thought it might help if I created a sample goal sheet just to give you an idea of how it might look:

Skippy M’Chippin’s Goals

Long Term Goals

Save money to build a two-story dog house

Learn how to jump the fence

Climb Mt. Rainier

Write my memoirs, “Givin’ the Dog a Bone.”

Short Term Goals

Create a portfolio

Make a gift for Blackfoot’s birthday

Walk at least three times per week

Finish my short story, “The Bunny Hops No More.”

If you decide to give this a try for yourself, adjust the process to meet your needs!  Use your own definitions of “Long Term” and “Short Term.”  Post the goal sheet on your laptop desktop instead of the wall; change the font; rearrange the structure; add pictures… whatever it is that makes you feel more connected with and attracted to your goal sheet.

Do you have your own method of goal setting?  Do tell!

Happy Full Moon everyone!

11 Responses to Goal Setting with the Capricorn Full Moon

  1. Flood says:

    P’raps the full moon is why I am feeling wonky today?

    Make a gift for Blackfoot’s birthday This really ought be at the top of the list.

    I just make a list of the baby-steps it takes to reach the big goal, usually in a notebook that I lose once a day, so your idea to keep the list on my desktop is a good one.

    I can’t lose the desktop, right?

  2. JLB says:

    Howdy Flood! Full moons always throw me for a loop one way or the other, and from my observations, no one is spared the pull of the moon, whether they notice it or not!

    I also liked putting the list on my computer desktop. I use MS Paint to make my Word document into a picture, and then set that as the background. Not only can I not lose it, but it is ALWAYS there, so I can’t miss seeing it!

  3. frankengirl says:

    I like how you write about not beating ourselves up if our goals change or we miss one. I know I’ve started avoided long lists because they become lists of SHAME, hehe! So now I’ll add something nice and easy to my list so that I can feel a sense of accomplishment as I work toward the more lofty objectives.

    One of the fun things about writing lists, though, is seeing how our goals DO change over time, and the list itself can help us clarify what’s most important to us.

    🙂

  4. jason evans says:

    The moon was very beautiful. Low in the sky. I got a couple of great pictures.

  5. JLB says:

    FrankenGirl, you’re so right! I love finding old lists or looking back over the goal sheets and seeing how things have changed!

    Jason – oooo, that moon was just scrumptious! I’m jealous of your pictures – my camera only records glowing blobs. 🙂

  6. Jason says:

    Believe it or not, I’ve saved just about every goal sheet I’ve ever written, honestly. Funny when you mentioned Carleton Sheets. While his goal principles may be sound, his real estate program is a different story. I have a review of him on my site http://www.onlyreviews.com Anyhow, I like the idea about hanging the goals on the wall, I’ll need a really BIG bulletin board for them thought.

  7. […] a fresh start for the new moon?  Try setting some new goals, visit some place new, or sit down and spend some time plying your […]

  8. […] in my non-existent spare time.  On my list of goals for tonight’s/tomorrow morning’s full moon in Capricorn: make time in July for drawing and […]

  9. […] In case it’s not painfully obvious by now, I pay close attention to lunar cycles.  This weekend, I hope you find inspiration wherever you happen to look.  If you’re of a mind to set some fresh goals, you can check out last year’s Goal Setting with the Capricorn Moon. […]

  10. […] is a recap of the goal setting strategy I originally shared at Brainripples in my post Goal Setting with the Capricorn Full Moon.  (This method for setting goals is derived from what I learned from Carleton H. Sheets in his […]

  11. […] you’re feeling out of balance, carve out some time today and review your goals.  For a moment, mentally push aside all your current engagements, and think about what you want to […]

Leave a Reply

