The Debut of the Picolata Review

If you’re looking for what’s new on the market, be sure to visit the Picolata Review, a new online literary journal whose debut issue hit the net on yesterday’s solstice, June 21, 2006.

Featuring poets and writers from various genres and backgrounds as well as interviews and book reviews, the Picolata Review has done an excellent job of creating a fresh, new voice for itself in the chorus of literary publications.

Each piece is both unique and well-composed, and while it’s hard to pick a favorite, I’ll direct you to two of the pieces which spoke to me the most: I am Chinese, by Jamie Ford, and Prelude to Redemption, by Santiago B. Villafania.  Be sure to browse the rest of the issue – every piece is worth the read!                                                                        

The Picolata Review includes a little information about each author and their work.  Readers also have the opportunity to discuss the works published in the Picolata Review in their online forum, created as a place for readers and writers to exchange ideas.

Enjoy!

8 Responses to The Debut of the Picolata Review

  1. JLB, thanks for checking out my site and for starting a discusion (re: Prelude to Redemption) at The Picolata Review discussion board. All the best :p

  2. Trailhead says:

    I’ve only had the time to read the excellent I am Chinese, but it packed quite a punch, didn’t it?

    I’m very pleased you’ve started another site!

  3. JLB says:

    Santiago, it was my pleasure, most especially to read your work! Thanks for stopping by Brainripples!

    Trailhead, howdy! Indeed, I am Chinese was very moving, as were several of the other works included. Thanks so much for dropping in! I’m pretty excited to be branching out into another blog where I can address some of my other projects and interests.

  4. Kristine says:

    When you link items that take a moment to read could you please have tese open in a separate window for the people that get lost …like me. I’ve added you to my blog roll. You have a nice place to stop by…discussions. Creative flow? Mine doesn’t stop. It’s the physical part of me keeping up with my brain!

  5. JLB says:

    Greetings Kristine! Thanks for stopping in! I will do my best to figure out how to make links automatically open in a new window (I'm still learning). I know how easy it is to get lost.

    You are very fortunate that your creative flow is persistent! I find that when one of my creative media slows down, it's often a time for me to switch gears and pour my energy into something different.

    Thanks again for visiting, and for adding me to your blogroll! Time for me to pop over and see what you're up to. 🙂

    Cheers,
    JLB

  6. JLB says:

    PS – I just figured out how to direct WordPress to open links in a new window, but in case it's helpful for you at other sites, here's how to ensure that you always open links in a new window using Microsoft Windows:

    1) Right-mouse-click on the weblink you want to visit
    2) From the menu that pops up, click on the second option down "Open in New Window"
    3) Voilà, she is done!

    Take care,
    JLB

  7. Eric says:

    Hey JLB; Blog looking great.

    About that new window thing…
    Firefox browser
    multiple ways to open links in new tabs, rather than windows;
    very handy when researching and composing.
    :Eric (Bingorage)

  8. JLB says:

    Hey dude, I totally agree! In fact, IE 7 also uses tabs… it just took the ol’ Win-Machine a little longer to come up to speed. 😉

Leave a Reply

