Ripples in the Ether – Thinking Blogger Awards at Brainripples

Thinking Blogger Award

Somewhere in the tornado that was my life immediately prior to my Seattle trip, the Brainripples blog received two nominations for the Thinking Blogger award thanks to the gracious recognition of two people whose work, humor, writing, and blogs I sincerely admire: Anita Marie Moscoso of Owl Creek Bridge, and SpyScribbler.  If you don’t already lurk around their webpages, be sure to swing by with a lazy Friday afternoon you want to kill so you can enjoy all there is to read.

Arboreality was also nominated with the Thinking Blogger Award in April thanks to Sylvia of Sister Earth and Classical Bookworm.  It was a serious challenge to select just five nominees considering how many blogs I read, browse, admire, and enjoy.

 

So here I am again, with the same old bittersweet dilemma.  I want to tell you about all the artist blogs I admire, all the well-composed, ridiculously-inhuman quality blogs that there are out there!  The only thing that makes this any easier for me, is that I’ve already taken five off the list at Arboreality’s Thinking Tree… but that’s a mere needle in a vast evergreen forest.

 

So without further ado, here are five blogs that make me think:

 

(1) Via Negativa by Dave Bonta

[Dave co-manages the (2) Festival of the Trees along with Pablo of Roundrock Journal.  Writer, artist, and naturalist, Dave shares a thought-provoking variety of material.]

 

(3) The Woodring Monitor by Jim Woodring

[If this dude’s art doesn’t make you scratch your head, maybe (4) Crack Skull Bob will.  I just LOVE art off the beaten path.]

 

(5) Vietnamese God by GodKnows

[I love how blogs allow us to see another part of the world; Vietnamese God offers insights into his culture (and its cuisine).  And while her homebase isn't far from me, Crystal of (6) Wide Open Wonder loves to explore and share her discoveries.]

 

(7) Endlessly Red on Our Snow by Alex Williams (a.k.a. Endlessly)

[There’s something meditative about the steady stream of poems Endlessly shares.  Similarly, Joanna Powell Colbert’s (8) Gaian Tarot Artist Journal is always a reliable source of introspection.]

 

(9) Bingorage by Eric Keast

[Along with his art, Eric and bloggers like Larry Mitchell of (10) The Native Blog help give a voice to the current events affecting First Nations / Native American / Indigenous peoples.]

 

Yep – that was ten!  Neener neener.  But hey, I received two nominations, so why not get you all thinking twice as much?

 

If you have a (#) by your blog’s name, you have been nominated with the Thinking Blogger Award, compliments of yours truly.

If you were tagged with the Thinking Blogger Award and you want to participate by tagging others, be sure to stop by The Thinking Blog (where this meme originated) for more info. Here are the easy rules: 

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think 

2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme 

3. Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote (here is an alternative silver version if gold doesn’t fit your blog). 

* * *

 

And if you didn’t get enough inspiration here, check out the sidebars at Brainripples and Arboreality, and wade out into the ether!

 

 

Beach Walkway

7 Responses to Ripples in the Ether – Thinking Blogger Awards at Brainripples

  1. Dave Bonta says:

    Hey, thanks, Jade! Even though I’m allergic to memes, I really appreciate this – and I’m glad to see that we share some favorite bloggers, such as Crack Skull Bob and Endlessly Red. As for thinking bloggers, I’d say the award must go first and foremost to the dude (?) at the Thinking Blog who dreamed up this ingenious way of generating links back!

  2. JLB says:

    Dave, I think we share the same allergy! This one is just so cool though – I’ve really found some interesting “thinkers” by following the trails that led to my blog. I’m glad to send people your way – you’re one of the unique voices in the ether! You’ve got a point too – I wonder if anyone has retagged The Original Thinker? :)

  3. Joanna says:

    Thank you Jade! How cool is this? I’ll enjoy figuring out my favorite five . . . blessings of the trees to you!

  4. JLB says:

    Joanna, your award is well-deserved. One of these days, I’ll going to sit down and write out some of the many cool things I’ve been learning from your cards so I can share them with you! Enjoy making your blog selections – it’s not as easy as it looks. ;)

  5. Eric says:

    Hey Jade!
    Thanks for the nomination and feedback.
    :Eric/Bingorage

  6. JLB says:

    Eric, you are most welcome (and thanks for the tip on the broken link).

    Cheers,
    jlb

  7. [...] nominated GodKnows at Vietnamese God for the Thinking Blogger Award, and I can’t help but point you to his blog a second time.  The Vietnamese God blog gives us an [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

